Are You A Plate Juggler?

spinning-plates2-1024x1024

Do you ever feel like a plate juggler? All of your plates in the air and your arms are getting tired and it is becoming increasingly difficult to keep them in motion and you know if one more plate was added you will let them fall.

This is what it feels like when you are a people (person) pleaser.

You try to be who they want you to be and in the process you forget who you are. You are fearful they will leave you if you let one plate drop.

You stop thinking for yourself, or at least stop speaking your own thoughts. You agree even when you don’t agree. You remain silent when you should speak and speak when you should remain silent. You tip toe around, leaping over the elephant in the living room, and finish your performance with a plié, as if expecting an applause, a standing ovation from your audience. But that doesn’t happen, does it?

Your own self worth is chiseled away for the “sake of keeping the peace.” You feel very small and vulnerable.

You hear a small voice telling you this is not right. You get a momentary feeling of bravery and you say to yourself, “today is the day I am gonna throw these plates down.” But, ya don’t.

You were created to be you, NOT someone else. There is great value in who you were created to be. There is only one you. Hidden deep inside of you is a gift and the gift was placed there to help you fulfill your purpose.

Maybe you have buried the gift so deep and are afraid to use it because someone told you it was ‘nothing’? Someone treated you, and your gift, as common and you believed them. You have compared your gift with the gift of others and you thought yours was dim in comparison.

This is not a good place to be in. I know.

The plates carry names:

  • relationships
  • work
  • bills
  • time
  • (you can fill this one in)

You can not give 100% to 100 things. There has to be balance. Perhaps it is time to do inventory and weigh the importance against the urgent. Drop some of those plates!

Be yourself. Your wonderful self. If you forgot who yourself is, then take some quiet time, go to the One who created you and let Him restore you.

It is too exhausting trying to be someone we are not. There is only one you, so be the best you you can be.

Jesus say’s in Matthew 11:28-30…

design3“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavily burdened [by religious rituals that provide no peace], and I will give you rest [refreshing your souls with salvation]. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me [following Me as My disciple], for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest (renewal, blessed quiet) for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy [to bear] and My burden is light.”

                                                                                           

Now, who is better and more trustworthy than Jesus to give your plates to? No one!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Are You A Plate Juggler?

  1. Love this. I was definitely that person. I only became aware of it though when I realized what I wanted wasn’t the same as what everyone else wanted. I’m also learning why I naturally try to please people – how I have a fear of conflict and a fear of being rejected. Essentially, it’s a fear of getting hurt. So, I’m on a journey trying to deal with these things now that I’m aware of them. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting.

      Fear is such a monster, isn’t it? It does feel good when we can help people, but I think we can realize when we cross the line of pleasing people to the point it is not healthy for us (or them). My biggest fear was rejection, most of that fear was rooted from childhood and carried over (unintentionally, of course). I think my break through started to happen when I heard God speak to me during one of my sobbing break downs, I heard Him say, (paraphrasing) “In the end, you are you and I am I.” This statement may not make sense to anyone else, but what it meant to me is… God does not change and He loves me and that will never change. It was exactly what I needed to hear. Because when a persons life seems out of control (as I felt mine was), change can be a scary thing. We stay in the bad because it is something we know. It is uncomfortably comfortable.

      I am still on the journey, too. It is good to know we are not alone, right.

      Blessings on your journey and may you always remember… God is in control even when it seems like everything else is out of control.

      Like

      1. I love your story! Thank you so much for sharing that with me. I love how our journeys are different and how God speaks to us differently, but also they’re very similar. My fear of rejection also came from childhood, I think, and it’s something I only starting dealing with in the last few years. It can be a painful and long process, but I’m so thankful God is with me through it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

