Hunger for Fathers Love

Gods love

It doesn’t matter how old we are, we still want the love of a father.

There is something about a fathers love, his acceptance, his stamp of approval, we crave. There is a feeling of safety in the love and acceptance of a father. You know, it is like having a safety net. It gives us courage and boldness. We can venture out and not be afraid of failing, because even if we don’t succeed, the father is still there.

A father provides, loves unconditionally, and is proud.

Maybe this is why we settle for relationships that aren’t beneficial to us? Because the temporary feeling of being loved and accepted is a warm shower, a comforting blanket, a gentle kiss on the forehead. But we aren’t fooled, we know it is just temporary. That is why we hold on and struggle to let it go.

A fathers love is not to be found in a lover, a spouse. This is a different kind of love. But when we are so starving for the attention and affection of a man we regard as “strong,” we will put up with all kinds of nonsense. Dysfunctional “love” is ingrained in us from birth when we do not know the love of a father.

We have wild imaginations of what love is suppose to look like and we play our part hoping the lead character will play his part too. And he does,but it is not the love story you hoped for.

Why?

Because the heart of a father can’t be found in any other man. You can’t create what you never had. But the heart of THE FATHER can only be found in One and He says we can call Him Abba.

Abba is the Daddy who meets the boys at the door and determines if he is good enough for His daughter. Abba is the Daddy who protects us and provides for us. Abba is the One who sits us on His knee and talks with us and listens to us.

Are you tired yet? Tired of waiting for someone else to tell you how valuable you are? Tired of waiting for the promise made by someone else that will never come? Is there a little voice of truth whispering in your ear, deep into your heart, telling you to turn back?

When we consider our time here is but a vapor and that we do have a purpose, there is really no more time to be wasted with someone who is just wasting your time.

I am not crying any more. Sure I miss him. But if I am honest with myself, it may not be him that I am missing, but the “feeling” of being loved and accepted. And if I am even more real, I never even truly felt that.

So, where do we find this kind of love? This kind of protection and safety? Only through Jesus. He is the only One to lay His life down for us. He is our Father, our Redeemer, our Salvation.

 

Right from the beginning, He has called you by name. You are His. Do not be afraid when He removes someone from your life. He is Abba Daddy, He has something better for you.

You can not find yourself in another person. It is not the attention of another that defines who you are.

If you carry His Name, the Name of God, then you are someone to be cherished and loved.

He/she who finds a wife/husband, finds a good thing. Because God can and will love you through the marriage relationship. But, until that time, let Him love you right where you are. Because only when you know who you are in Him, and Who He is, will you be able to recognize and not destroy, the one He has for you.

Oh, God, may we feel You, may we feel Your hug and Your protection. May we hear You tell us how very much You love us and are proud of us. May we fully understand that through Jesus we ARE accepted by You. Anything or anyone that is not of You, please remove them and give us the strength to let go.

2 thoughts on “Hunger for Fathers Love

  1. Very, very good. I was just talking earlier tonight about this very topic, of course, from my perspective, I have realized I have sought after women to somehow fill needs that only God can, I have mistakenly put women in a godlike position. This is very painful and embarrassing to admit, it does serve to drive me to grow closer to the Father and to seek from Him, that filling of the unquenchable hole that is in my soul. This is, a painful process of course because I, in reality have to admit I need God to teach me, how and what our relationship is supposed to be. It also means I need God to teach me, how and what a Godly relationship with a woman is.

    Thank you again for this post, I needed to and am glad I read it and I thank God you wrote and posted this, God bless and hold you close my friend πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, this is the beginning of wisdom when we realize there is a place in us that only He can fill. Your statement of “it does serve to drive me closer to the Father and to seek from Him, that filling of the unquenchable hole that is in my soul,” is so relatable and true. I still struggle with this at times, too. I am reminded of Romans 8:28, I find it comforting to know that even when we step off course, trying to find the filler (for lack of a better word) and we get the let down, that even then, despite ourselves, He can still work it for our good and for His glory.

    Thank you for your comment and your honesty, my friend. Have a blessed Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

