TEMPTATIONS

modern woman at the well

I remember before I met Jesus, I bought a Bible and tried to read it. It made absolutely no sense to me, at all. I could not understand how it could possibly apply for today. It was like reading a foreign language. And that is exactly what it was, it was foreign. I spoke and understood the language of the world. I did not understand what the Spirit was speaking. I was blind and deaf.

Then I met Jesus and suddenly the Word became life.

His Word is relevant, ALWAYS!  Through the Word we learn Him, who He is, who we are… it is a road map. His Word is just as true today as it was yesterday.

I am writing this post because it is personal to me. As a single woman, and I am sure many other single Christians out there can testify, the battle is real. I was recently ridiculed for my faith and belief in abstinence before marriage. I was mocked and told I would be single forever because no man out there would agree to my standards. Needless to say, I walked away.

The person who spoke that was correct. There is NO man out there, but there is a man in Him, my Savior who cares for me and protects me.

Knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep; for now our salvation is nearer than when we first believed. (Romans 13)

Resist the devil, stand firm, do not give in to temptations. You no longer belong to yourself, but to Jesus, you are His, bought with a price. Do not be slaves to sin, satisfying your own flesh. This satisfaction is only temporary, but the end result is death.
It is not always an easy path to follow Christ. He said Himself the path is narrow and few find it. We all have our temptations, you know, the thing, or person, that plays on our weakness.

Recognize your weakness, and be strong in Him. He ALWAYS gives us a way of escape.

escape

                 Sometimes our way of escape is below our knees, they are called feet, use them and walk away.

There are too many who believe sex outside of marriage is OK. They equate sex with love. Let’s call it what it is, SIN. Do not sugar coat it, it is what it is. SIN.

Not everyone understands the call you have on your life. Protect the calling, it is far more important to please God, the true lover of your soul, than it is to please the lover of your flesh. Real love will wait. Real love will honor God and you.

At this, Jesus said to her, Go, call your husband and come back here. The woman answered, I have no husband. Jesus said to her, You have spoken truly in saying, I have no husband. For you have had five husbands, and the man you are now living with is not your husband. In this you have spoken truly.

John 4:16-18

When Jesus raised Himself up, He said to her, Woman, where are your accusers? Has no man condemned you? She answered, No one, Lord! And Jesus said, I do not condemn you either. Go on your way and from now on sin no more.

John 8:10-11

This is the good news, through Christ we have forgiveness. In Him, we are strong.

Do not play with fire. You are far more valuable.

You are His beloved. His plan for you is hope and life. His ways are far better. Trust Him.

And if you should ever find yourself at the end of a wagging finger, telling you how crazy you are to believe Gods Word… walk away and be glad. Rejoice! Because the reward is found in the palm of Jesus’ hand. You are right there in the center of His hand. His hand is gentle and strong. He will never let go of you. Hold on to Him. He sings over you, He smiles over you, and He says… the best is coming.

2 thoughts on “TEMPTATIONS

Leave a Reply

