Even Elijah Was Tired

lonley

Feeling so alone and I hate it!

He came not for those who are well, the whole need no physician… He came for me.

So, I hear the enemy attacks those with a destiny secure in the Lord, the most. All I can say now is… I must be a real threat.

My God, My God, hear me, rescue me, deliver me. God, I need You!

Deuteronomy 31:8 “… It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

Psalms 3:3 But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.

Psalms 42:11 Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

The fight is over the mind, the thought life. What I think is my reality. Oh, God, help me take every thought captive. I do what I don’t want to do, I don’t do what I want to do. Sometimes it feels like this darkness is all around me and it takes all my strength to look up to see a shimmer of light, of hope.

I am holding onto His promise until my knuckles are nearly white.

Why do we feel, as Christians, we have to lie and pretend we are so joyful? Let’s be honest, we are not always joyful. We have built such a façade of “happy,” we do not even know, or have not even tasted, what the joy of the Lord is. Why do we measure our spiritual maturity based on outward appearances? Lies!

Even Elijah wanted to die. Even He cried out to God to just take him home. I am by no means in the same league as Elijah, but I feel like that. I am tired. Do you ever feel that way?

I am tired of acting! I want to be real!

Oh, God! Save me, refresh me, renew my mind and my strength.

2 thoughts on “Even Elijah Was Tired

  1. It’s funny you should mention Elijah’s weakness. During some of my spiritual battling times, when the Lord was moving in a powerful way for a season…I always went into what I called my Elijah moments. They came like clock-work in the aftermath of the more powerful times.

    I got to the point where I knew to expect them. When they happened, I would pull myself into nurture mode, until I could strengthen.

    These times do pass (if it’s a similar thing…)

    Hang in, sis. He’ll go before you and make sure you get where He’s calling you to get to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, HICCUP, you are a great encourager and I appreciate you. Yes, He will make those crooked places straight and He never leaves us.
      Sometimes knowing it and the KNOWING it are two different things, huh.
      Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

