Lock The Door!

robbery

Someone I know recently had their house broke into.The first question the police asked was if the door was locked. No, the door was not locked. They were informed it wasn’t a breaking and entry, it was trespassing. Had it been breaking and entry, the person would have been arrested. Since it was just trespassing the person got off with a warning.

Doesn’t seem right for someone to enter your home without your permission, does it? One would think it is a matter of common sense to not enter a home without an invite. But, that is the law. You better believe the doors are always locked now.

We must take great care to safe guard our valuables. I am not talking about the material things that can be replaced, I am referring to the precious treasures of our soul.

“…how can a person go into a strong mans house and carry off his goods (the entire equipment of his house) without first binding the strong man? Then indeed he may plunder the house.” Matthew 12:29
“But know this, if the master of the house had known what hour the thief would come, he would have watched and not allowed his house to broken into.” Luke 12:39
 
I read an article recently about how we condition our mind to think. According to this article, we can think on a thought, a situation, to the point of obsessing, and it will change the chemical make up of our brain. These obsessive thoughts will recognize triggers and become so entwined/tangled it will lead to depression, anxiety, fears… to the point where we feel hopeless to change it. We become consumed with the thoughts we have trained our minds to think on. Perhaps this is why Paul told us to take every thought captive, demolish those arguments and pretensions that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, bring every thought to the obedience of Christ.
This is how the devil works, he is a trespasser.
When we keep our “home” on lockdown, the enemy can not break in. Because we use the word of God and it seals every entrance. Now, this is a lock we can trust. His word is more powerful than any home security system.
no tresspassing
But… when we do not lock that door, when we give way to the imaginations, the thoughts the devil plants in our minds… then we have unlocked our door and he will come in like the intruder he is.
He will lightly knock on the door to see if anyone is home. He will plant a thought and if we do not reject that thought, he will say, “ah! Let me jiggle the doorknob and see if I can get in.”
The word tells us what we should keep our minds focused on.
For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them]. Philippians 4:8
This is where I am now. This is the battle I am in. Keeping my mind focused on the promises of God. Not letting myself fall back into the old thoughts that have kept me hostage to fear and depression. I am focusing on the blessing that comes when I let go of the past. Not meditating on what could have been, but on what is.
If we change the chemical imbalances of our brain, if we change the make-up of our mind, by thinking on things that bring destruction. Then I find it safe to say we can also change it for the good when we CHOOSE to think on the truth and not the lie.
So be subject to God. Resist the devil [stand firm against him], and he will flee from you. James 4:7
The next time my mind starts to go to him… the man who broke my heart, but didn’t break me, when I start to feel sad, anxious, blue…. I will remind myself, I didn’t lose love, because I have love, through Christ. I do not miss him, I only miss the him who I wanted him to be. I am not controlled by my emotions, but my emotions are subject to the will of God.
Healing comes. How do I know this? Because I am taking Jesus at His word when He says, with God ALL things are possible!
Leave a Reply

